Lavender Lemon Cookie Sandwiches

My sacred book of lists and scribbles (also known as my journal)

A new year means a couple of new goals (not resolutions). Here’s a few from the list, that I plucked from my journal:

  • have at least 250 “highlight of the day’s” written by the years end
  • send out more postcards
  • draw more often
  • get a photo of mine put into a gallery show
  • have a weekly reason to update my blog
  • do a cartwheel in a different country
  • try recipes with ingredients I’ve never used
  • learn two new trades
  • find an excuse to wear fake eyelashes, weekly
  • order something on a menu with ingredients that I can’t pronounce
  • learn to write with my left hand
  • learn a magic trick thats more impressive than “I’ve got your nose”
  • teach my dog a new trick

This morning, sick as a serial killer, I made cookie sandwiches. I used lavender as an ingredient, for the first time ever.

This just knocked three things off of my list of goals!

my lemon lavender cookie sandwiches!

My friend Bea, had a grand plan to create something called Make Monday. I loved it! It got me excited to look at her blog every Monday. Even though she hasn’t updated since May, I still go back hoping that she’ll pick it up again. Until then, I’m taking this idea from her.

So, every Monday, plan on me making something. Perhaps a craft, a meal, or if I can’t get it together, you may end up seeing a video of me making my bed.

Heres my recipe and a photo tutorial on how to make lemon lavender cookie sandwiches. (note: you’ll see I just started playing around with my new Wacom tablet, and went a little crazy)

The cookies:

  • ¾ cup  granulated sugar
  • 2 Tbsp. grated zest
  • 2 Tbsp. juice from two lemons
  • 2 Tbsp. dried lavender
  • 1 ¾ cups all-purpose flour
  • ¼ tsp. salt
  • ¼ tsp. baking powder
  • 12 Tbsp. softened unsalted butter
  • 1 lg. egg yolk
  • ½ tsp. vanilla extract

The Creme:

  • 8 Tbsp. unsalted butter
  • ¾ cup of powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla (you could probably replace this with some lemon zest, and it would be just as tasty)

My first challenge was looking at this lavender strait in the bud and say “how do i turn you from a flower to a food?”

That was about the time I looked at the sugar (and my coffee grinder) for some help.

I poured 2 tablespoons of lavender and a little less than half of the sugar into my coffee grinder and grounded it to a pulp.

Not only did I learn how easy it is to pulverize lavender, but I ALSO now know how to make powdered sugar!

I ground 2 lemons against a cheese grader, for my 2 tablespoons of lemon zest

then blend it with the rest of the sugar, until it becomes moist and lumpy.

then mix in lavender sugar

then add 12 tablespoons of room temp butter

mix it until well blended.

then add in ½ tsp. vanilla extract, 2 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice, and an egg yolk and mix it all together until well blended.

in a separate bowl, mix together the dry ingredients. Then mix this mixture into the other bowl, in several segments. Mix until a cookie dough is created.

flour a surface

gently kneed the dough onto the surface until it becomes
thick enough to roll into a log

then roll up the log of cookie dough in a sheet of parchment paper

twist the ends, and put it in the refrigerator for at least 45 minutes, so the dough can harden. Before you take them out, you’ll want to preheat your oven to 375.

slice up the cold dough about nay thick (probably could have cut mine a bit thinner, but I like my cookies soft)

then place the cookies on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. I took to cookies that I sliced and paired them up by putting one upside down. This way, when you put the cream in them, you can hide the undersides on the inside of the cookie….did that even make sense?? Oh well.

they should be in the oven until they’re golden brown around the edges(about 15 minutes), and the tray should be turned half way through their baking (about 7 minutes)

this is how they should look when their done baking!

Let them cool on a wire rack. While they’re cooling, you can make the butter creme filling by beating together

  • room temp butter
  • powdered sugar
  • vanilla

until it looks light and fluffy.

Like this.

Then placing it into something that will let you transfer it into the center of the cookie (so that it spreads evenly). I used this parchment paper method. But putting it into a ziplock bag, and cutting a corner of the bag, works too.

the following, is my favorite part of the whole process:

step one.

step two.

step done!

I can’t really taste them, but I had a friend try them out for her expert advice. She said they were a good meal cookie, but that by NOT adding the creme, they would make a good tea cookie, as well.

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

45 Responses to “Lavender Lemon Cookie Sandwiches”

  1. elizabeth Says:

    I need to make these asap. Where do you get the lavender? Is it something I might be able to pick up at, say, Whole Foods? Or should I turn to a specialty shop?

  2. Superalzy Says:

    I’m definitely into sandwich cookies & whoopie pies for 2011. This sounds like a great recipe. Can’t wait to try it out!

  3. Frank Says:

    I see you are enjoying your digital pad. Those shots are great, very nice colors and lights.

    I made something today too. Pinto Bean and Green Hatch Chili (vegetarian) with Cornbread. I should have taken some pictures.

    Have you played around with that 35mm on your Canon yet? I’m dying to know.

    • ohChloe Says:

      Can I take the 35mm off of the Leica while there’s still film in it??
      I feel clueless

      • Frank Says:

        Yep, you sure can. I mean, as long as you are not holding the shutter trigger down while you do it. The adaptor ring takes a little getting used to in terms of getting it to lock, but I have full confidence that you will be able to work it our. There is a little lever on the ring that has to be presses to get it to lock. Send me an email if you have any problems.

      • Frank Says:

        Me no spell good

  4. Ryan Says:

    I have been laughing hard for 3 minutes about the “take me to the fridge cookie log” drawing. I love Make Mondays. LOVE them. Never get sick of the new Wacom tablet. Ever.

  5. Bea Says:

    Fucking hell ya Croaky! I’m so excited you’re doing this!

    Oh and wearing fake eyelashes once a week was totally on my new years resolutions list too haha.

    In other news, Brixton misses you. Come see us please.

    • ohChloe Says:

      Have you worn eyelashes yet?
      I wore some to the post office, the other day.
      ha

      I miss you guys! You feel so far now, and no one ever updates the internet in your family, anymore!

  6. Em Halforbes Says:

    Ooooh! Good recipe! Have never made cookies before – we’re more into biscuits in the UK. *rushes off to find lavender*

  7. emwalsh Says:

    Wow – these sound delicious! Also – I love the drawings – very fun 🙂

  8. freshandfoodie Says:

    These are beautiful! I love your blog — glad I found it on FoodPress.

  9. Vanessa Says:

    I find this post really inspiring, not only recipe-wise, but visually too! great job gurlz! ❤

  10. Carrie Says:

    The recipe is good. Your drawings and humor are OUTSTANDING. 🙂 Love it!!

  11. Babygirl Says:

    This post is great and this recipe is amazing. I really enjoyed reading this. I can’t wait to make these cookies.

  12. Kristen Says:

    I just found your blog from FoodPress. So adorable! I love it and the cookie look quite scrumptious too!

  13. Marynika L. Says:

    I love your blog and images. Very fun!

  14. andrea Says:

    chloe! now i have a giant craving for lavender cookies… these look awesome. your resolution writing is inspiring me to rethink this whole tradition and my tradition of not doing it

    • ohChloe Says:

      switch the tradition!!
      I believe you made some delicious gluten free cookies, that I tried once and LOVED.
      I think we should have a cookie swap

  15. Bettina Says:

    Thank goodness I bought a sandwich cookie when we were hanging out today, because I’m totally craving one now! This blog RULES! The drawings totally make this exceptional.

  16. phylliskirigin Says:

    Your cookies look delicious. Now I have a good idea about how to use the LAVENDER SUGAR I got for Christmas. I see that it can be ordered online at http://www.lavendercanada.com Did I miss something? Why can’t you taste them? Is it the gluten?

    http://www.sweetpaprika.wordpress.com

  17. rsmacaalay Says:

    Excellent use of lavender, I remembered when a chef went into our house and saw our lavender flowers he said that it would make a wonderful ingredient. It kept me thinking where to use it as I forgot to ask him, now with this post my wife might keep wondering where the lavenders are now.

    Raymund
    http://angsarap.wordpress.com

  18. The Invisible Cookbook Says:

    Yum!!! They look delicious. I had a lavender Creme Brulee about a year ago and have been dreaming of it ever since. These look like they could be just as good!

  19. lazybirdbakery Says:

    yumm….these look so tasty….must. try. immediately.

  20. Cortney Says:

    These look amazing!

  21. Elizabeth Says:

    I’ve always used the lavender leaves in my cooking; I’ve been looking for a lavender cookie recipe for years–thanks! I was wondering, what if you substituted cocoa for the lavender? Homemade oreos?

    • ohChloe Says:

      I made some homemade oreos! I was shocked at how easy they were. The entire process was so much shorter and equally as delicious. http://itschloe.com/2010/04/22/oh-reos/

      What do you use lavender for? I want to try cooking something savory with it!

    • Elizabeth Says:

      Oh wow, now I can’t remember actually cooking with it. It’s been years. We grew it at the last restaraunt I worked at and the chef liked to use the flowers as a garnish. I have made my own heat packs with crushed lavender in them. I wanna say that I used it in a rice, but I’m not sure. I’m sorry. Although, it’s food for thought, and I’m gonna look into it and try to come up with some lavender foods. I’ll get back to you when I have them.

  22. Kerry Says:

    I’ve always wanted to cook with Lavender. I’ve seen Lavender candy at the craft store but I heard it was more of a vanilla flavor sadly. Also, I’m a sucker for Lemon!

  23. Sunday Link Party! Says:

    […] Chloe makes cookiemaking look like way more fun than I’ve ever seen it. (Shoplifting in a Ghost Town) […]

  24. Lavender Lemon Cookie Sandwiches (via Shoplifting in a Ghost Town) | the delicious foods Says:

    […] Lavender Lemon Cookie Sandwiches (via Shoplifting in a Ghost Town) Posted on January 17, 2011 by inislamicworld My sacred book of lists and scribbles (also known as my journal) A new year means a couple of new goals (not resolutions). Here's a few from the list, that I plucked from my journal: have at least 250 "highlight of the day's" written by the years end send out more postcards draw more often get a photo of mine put into a gallery show have a weekly reason to update my blog do a cartwheel in a different country try recipes with ingredients I've neve … Read More […]

  25. All Wrapped Up | Shoplifting in a Ghost Town Says:

    […] Teaching myself Illustrator enough to start playing with my food […]

Leave a comment